BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm brand new to the BMW community and i'm looking to upgrade my hand-me-down Hyundai Accent that was given to me a few years back. I've been looking around and feel a 2012 335i would be a perfect choice for me. I'd like to get something that is reliable, quick, and somewhat luxurious so I think i've found the right car. The reason I came here is to ask some basic questions that may have been answered previously but I haven't dug deep on this forum yet. Figured I'd add that I'm an 18 year old college student who does not have an infinite amount of money so reliability is a huge thing for me. Is the N55 the most reliable BMW engine made? If not, what is? Which engine will be able to handle small performance upgrades without diminishing the life of the car? I want to do a tune and maybe a few basic upgrades after getting it and would hate to have my engine blow up in a few months. I'm from NY and the most I feel good spending on a new far is about 15-17k, so i feel the 2012 335i is a good choice. Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I appreciate any feedback or tips!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If reliability and cheap maintenance are important to you, then the entire 335 series is right out.
Would a 2011 328 be a better decision then? I'd have more wiggle room for mods that i plan to do because of the price difference.

·
Registered
5,993 Posts
https://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1517476

If you can DIY it lowers the cost of ownership a lot.

See the above link the turbo's have all the same problems as the 328
with the addition of turbo problems that can be quite expensive.
Even if you can DIY a Turbo change.

The 328 is not very tunable if power is your primary consideration.

Turbo cars are tunable because you can always increase the boost.

The base stereo on the US 2010 to 2011.5 is a POS