BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I have an '03 525i, and my rear brake pads are getting pretty thin (<20%). Fronts are good (>70%).

I have never worked on my car before, nor do I have tools or a garage.....but I DO NOT want to overpay at the Stealership.

So my question, for any DIYer in my area (Bethesda, MD / DC metro area)....would anyone with a garage and tools be willing to help me replace the pads only?

I will be ordering the parts this week, and don't want to replace the rotors....just the pads. This is a car I drive very gently, and use it as my daily driver (10mi/day). I just want to keep it going smoothly, for the very least amount of $$$$.

PLease let me know if you would be willing to help....thanks!

·
Registered
79 Posts
in the mean time, you might want to remove the right rear (passenger's side) brake pad sensor and tie strap it to the brake line or you'll end up buying a new brake pad sensor. just a thought:)

·
Realtor
500 Posts
After removing the rear wheel it's a 20 minute job on each wheel. Simple hand tools, brake clean and caliper grease will be the only tools you will need. BMW makes changing pads very easy and anyone who can change a flat can change pads on these things. Btw, I'm not intending to give you a hard time. It's really that easy.

·
Registered
623 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After removing the rear wheel it's a 20 minute job on each wheel. Simple hand tools, brake clean and caliper grease will be the only tools you will need. BMW makes changing pads very easy and anyone who can change a flat can change pads on these things. Btw, I'm not intending to give you a hard time. It's really that easy.
Thanks for the input. I would love to attempt this myself, but I'm scared I'll "F" it up and have to have it towed somewhere! I guess getting over the fear is the biggest battle!