BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the other day my rear differential started clunking/popping loudly every time I turn even remotely sharply, it will not pop if I turn at a big angle. I'm thinking maybe one of the teeth broke off. I don't know the course of action as to how to replace a rear differential. I could not find any DIYs online and am not sure how difficult a job this is. If anyone could help guide me in the right direction as to what would be the best course of action. Or how long a job like this could take (I have zero experience). Thanks for your time

·
Premium Member
128 Posts
I have zero experience
What comparable mechanical work have you done? I can’t offer any guidaance but the answer to this may help someone else give you a better answer to your question.

I had a rear differential seal leak that was discovered last month - the seal replacement cost $1500 or so at the dealership. There were no mechanical symptoms. A trusted shop doing an alignment brought it to my attention.

·
Registered
I make bowling balls for a living
355 Posts
Has anybody told you it was the rear diff or is that your diagnosis? I’d hate to see someone spend a lot of cash to not fix a problem.
I ask as F30 rear diff failure isn’t super common as they are replaced as units. Normally if one fails prematurely someone recently did a pinion seal and over tightened or under tightened the pinion nut which screws up the pinion bearing preload and potentially messes with pinion to ring gear depth/backlash if it’s way off.

·
Registered
6,656 Posts