BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

routine maintenance

5246 Views 20 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  RivMcLean
Hello, I am a novice DIYer but relatively handy and have a father in law who is very helpful. I am curious as to the routine maintenance I need to complete in the near future. 2004 330Ci, 54000miles, only driven after snow melts (april thru oct) about 7000miles per year. I've changed the oil yearly up to this point, and plan to change the brake fluid, manual tranny fluid, possibly fuel filter, and some cooling components. Do I need to change the whole cooling system or just a few parts that are more prone to failure? Any other thought on what else I need to do? The car runs great at this point and would like to keep it that way for another 10+ years.
thanks scott
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Awesome information. Thanks Scott. My wife's 2004 330 has 98k and I need to start looking into some preventative maintenance. (probably a little past due).

Thanks for the good jumping off point.
I think I'm gonna pass on the e46's DIY and just pay someone so I don't screw something up or have the car fall on top of me. On Friday, I'm getting a shop to do the following:

Replace the water pump for $460 ($100 part plus $360 labor) - Preventative
Belts and coolant will be another $60
Differential drain and fill $90
Replace the leaky $12 oil filter housing gasket for $260

Determine the noisy power steering and probably replace that for a yet to be determined price.

So probably about $1,300 for $300 in parts

:mad:
Ok. A little change of plans.

I found a guy on Craigslist whose ad says that he used to be a Master Technician at a BMW dealership. He's going back to college for an engineering degree and does mobile mechanic work.