BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

routine maintenance

5243 20
Hello, I am a novice DIYer but relatively handy and have a father in law who is very helpful. I am curious as to the routine maintenance I need to complete in the near future. 2004 330Ci, 54000miles, only driven after snow melts (april thru oct) about 7000miles per year. I've changed the oil yearly up to this point, and plan to change the brake fluid, manual tranny fluid, possibly fuel filter, and some cooling components. Do I need to change the whole cooling system or just a few parts that are more prone to failure? Any other thought on what else I need to do? The car runs great at this point and would like to keep it that way for another 10+ years.
thanks scott
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Good Info Scottji, My 2004 330Ci has almost 55000 miles on it. I changed my drive belts during a normal inspection and found the clutch fan was leaking so I changed this and changed the plastic water pump pulley because of stories I read while researching the drive belts. When I hit 60000 miles I will change or upgrade the entire cooling system (no plastic parts). Preventive maintenance is always a good thing and you do it when your car is in your garage, not on the side of the road somewhere far away from home. My only wish is to be able to gain access under the car in my garage, it sits sooo low...:thumbup:
It is simple stuff if you have the tools and the time. My belts and the fan clutch, water pump pulley took about an hour. If you are going to have all that done, may I also suggest having the belt tensioners changed while it is all apart, more preventive maintenance, but it keeps you from having to do it all over again.:dunno:
I agree with you Scott.