BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
99 323is
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sooo recently my 323is 1999, has been grinding whenever I engage the clutch, I searched some old threads seems like a throw-out bearing issue. So if im gonna replace that I know I should do clutch and fly-wheel. I found a clutch and flywheel kit on this site but im hella iffy on it because it cost 307.00 im cool with that but I know this is suppose to be a very expensive situation. Do you guys know anything about Sachs clutches. Im new to the euro world, but apparently they use these clutches at alot of Euro factories? Any Advice on this would be greatly appreciated guys, thanks....

·
Registered
4,278 Posts
I'm pretty sure Sachs is the OEM for BMW so that would be a safe bet. There are a lot of options out there you may want to consider to change performance.....- a lightweight flywheel, for example.

·
The Canadian Prick.
12,984 Posts
Okay, two schools of thought here.

1. Seach for Matt's 'Hellrot turbo build' thread, then search it for 'F1 Stage 2 clutch flywheel'

2. go to http://www.pelicanparts.com and search for their 'clutch super kit' to tell you EVERYTHING you 'should' change while in there. Then sub out the parts you can buy elsewhere of higher quality/better price, and you're golden from there.

Hope this helps,

Ed.

·
99 323is
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys! I looked up that F1 stage2 kit, im thinking thats the best bang for my buck. I researched the crap out of the company and reviews look pretty sound. My only other question is what do you guys think is fair labor wise ?

·
Fast Cars Suck!
7,726 Posts
Wow ed thats one of the nicest posts ive ever seen you create lol, and my clutch was replaced with a OEM one, PO baught it from stealership :rofl:

now as far as labor goes we talking shop price or friend doing it price?

·
The Canadian Prick.
12,984 Posts
Hey! I resent that Joe, I give helpful advice!

;)