BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Just a kid having fun...
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to taking care of the outside of my bimmer. I have a few questions regarding applying a wax vs. sealent....

1) What is the difference?

2) It's my understanding (i could be wrong) that the sealent appears to last longer and "protect" a bit more.
-So why wax

3) Is one harder to apply than the other?

4) how often should one need to apply both ?

5) anything important I should know?

6) I have been told to only use 100% carnuba wax

7) does one produce more "shine" is it really noticable (opinion question)

I appreciate any help (sorry for writing so much)

·
Registered
378 Posts

·
Registered
5,532 Posts
saladiro, I directed you here so you could search/read, not ask the questions again. They have all been asked and answered before. They are already in print right in front of you. Why wait for the answers, it could take a while. Do some reading.

dj

·
Paint Correction Guy!!!!
190 Posts
Hi all,

I am new to taking care of the outside of my bimmer. I have a few questions regarding applying a wax vs. sealent....

1) What is the difference? synthetic properties in sealants

2) It's my understanding (i could be wrong) that the sealent appears to last longer and "protect" a bit more.
-So why wax - sealants tend to be more reflective, while waxes are more "glossy"

3) Is one harder to apply than the other? almost all sealants are easy on and off, some waxes are stubborn to remove

4) how often should one need to apply both ? sealant - every 4 months, waxes - monthly

5) anything important I should know? live for today, not tomorrow...

6) I have been told to only use 100% carnuba wax - no wax is 100%, it would be hard as a rock

7) does one produce more "shine" is it really noticable (opinion question) - beauty is in the eye of the beholder, what I think looks better may not be what you think looks better