BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a dumb question but I am new to BMW and am used to the asians :thumbdwn:.
Is "Service Engine Soon" as serious as check engine or just an annoying thing like maintenance required? The car runs great :thumbup: (much better than my previous Scion). The oil was changed 1k ago (synthetic) and all new air filters. Is this just some dumb function that has to be shut off or is it something more serious?

·
Registered
765 Posts
I know this is a dumb question but I am new to BMW and am used to the asians :thumbdwn:.
Is "Service Engine Soon" as serious as check engine or just an annoying thing like maintenance required? The car runs great :thumbup: (much better than my previous Scion). The oil was changed 1k ago (synthetic) and all new air filters. Is this just some dumb function that has to be shut off or is it something more serious?
BMWs are designed at the factory to be serviced on a use basis rather than at set mileages. Once the required service is complete the service indicator is supposed to be reset by the tech. You can reset it yourself with the correct tool - search the archives.

CAUTION: you have a 540 - "service" takes on a whole new meaning. Not like Hondas and Toyotas; they are optimized for low maintenance. Your 540 is optimized to perform. Find a good BMW maintenance schedule and stick to it. Example: the cooling system needs to be replaced periodically, not just serviced. Or you risk cooking the engine when the radiator blows in the worst possible place (always) on some dark and stormy night (always). If your car is an automatic you need to research that service issue as well.