Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think this is a scam. My local BMW shop adds 10% to a repair bill for 'Shop Supplies'. The max charge is $40. My car is in for a repair today. I got a very poor explanation for the charge; some weasel words about overhead. I'm sure it's all built into the pricing anyway. Toyota/Lexus tries to do the same thing. I don't pay it.

Anybody else experience these charges ??

·
Nuclear engineer
02/2012 X5 35d M57Y CPO 99K miles NOKIAN WR G3 12K miles
17,477 Posts
Yes, of course. It is a common business practice. You should expect also to see itemized, disposal of toxics (freon, cadmium), cleaning before work, et cetera.

When I wrenched in 1970 most cars went to the wash bay first.

·
Registered
218 Posts
ALL dealerships do that.
I’m a Toyota dealer mechanic and we do in fact have shop supplies charges too. It mostly covers chemical disposal, as well as supplies such as brake cleaner, liquid wrench, lithium grease, gloves, the acetylene+o2 for the torch ... basically stuff us mechanics use when we service the cars. Those are not cheap

Here in the rust belt it’s easy to empty an entire can of liquid wrench and the torch tanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Bimmerfest

·
Registered
2013 535xi
4,188 Posts
As you say, don't pay it.
But you never had to use rags, cleaners, lubes, top off fluids and the like?
Sounds fairly reasonable to me.
If no one has ever told you, they are in the business to make money.
Would you pay it if it were listed as profit?

·
Nuclear engineer
17,477 Posts