Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks! I would appreciate some advice on this subject as I have no experience with BMWs let alone buying one that is 15+ years old. I have found a 2002 540i msport that has <100k miles and a decent price. The seller acquired it from someone 4 years ago and has had the following work done:
Suspension work
Valve cover
timing chain cover gaskets
Spark plugs
water pump/thermostat
Radiator expansion tank

What other repairs should I anticipate do to after buying, and an idea of the cost? I am not handy with this stuff so probably will get these done at a shop. I am getting a prepurchase inspection but interested in hearing what the real experiences have been. Is it even worth buying?

Appreciate any advice.

Thank you

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Should I buy this e39 540i msport?

Hello folks! I would appreciate some advice on this subject as I have no experience with BMWs let alone buying one that is 15+ years old. I have found a 2002 540i msport that has <100k miles and a decent price. The seller acquired it from someone 4 years ago and has had the following work done:
Suspension work
Valve cover
timing chain cover gaskets.
Spark plugs
water pump/thermostat
Radiator expansion tank

What other repairs should I anticipate do to after buying, and an idea of the cost? I am not handy with this stuff so probably will get these done at a shop. I am getting a prepurchase inspection but interested in hearing what the real experiences have been. Is it even worth buying

Appreciate any advice.

Thank you

·
Registered
449 Posts
First things first...
If you are in the United States, it's not an M-Sport, just a sport.
These are quirky but fun cars to own.
At first glance it looks like the common problem areas have been addressed and the list makes good ad copy. However, What brand parts are installed?
Exactly what suspension work?