BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is what my car service is looking like right now, The last service was done on 03.03.2020 at 27418 km, Today the car is sitting at 30689 km, not much driving this past year because of Covid, so my question is should i go and get the oil changed? The car is showing a message that says I should go get it the oil changed but i just want to know if it is necessary or not.
The car is a 17' BMW 3 series 318i with a b38 engine.

Attachments

·
Freedom isn't free!!
19,891 Posts
No. You’ll be fine to go at least another six months. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m a low mileage driver and I once went two years between oil changes.

·
Registered
6,536 Posts
No. If you bring your oil now and then to operating temperature, you are fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,369 Posts
The only reason to do it now would be to maintain the warranty. If the warranty has expired then don't bother. But do try to drive your car for a full hour at least every 2 weeks.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The only reason to do it now would be to maintain the warranty. If the warranty has expired then don't bother. But do try to drive your car for a full hour at least every 2 weeks.
Thanks everyone.
Do you mean that I should go for a non-stop drive that is 1 hour long? or just 1 hour in total? and as for the warranty it has expired.

·
Registered
197 Posts