BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, all
I'm new to BMW, we have signed a 45,000 lease for 430i two months ago. The lease agreement says: "I may be charged for excessive wear based on your standards for normal use and for mileage in excess of total miles over the scheduled lease term of "45,000" miles, at rate of "0.25" cents per mile."
0.25 cents per mile (or 1/4 cents)=1000 milesx0.25cents=250cents=$2.5 for 1000 miles
Did BMW made a mistake? I don't see how 0.25 cents/mile will stand in court if they try to charge us 25 cents/mile

Attaching lease copy.
Please share your lease verbal if different.
Thank you

·
Porleau
1,557 Posts
Out of curiosity, I just checked my lease contract and there is no decimal, just '25', so you may have a technicality here. Let us know how this turns out.

·
Registered
2,196 Posts
Generally speaking, contracts are interpreted against the drafter which in this case is BMW and car makers have argued, for years, that they are only bound by the four corners of the contract document, not what they may have said in advertising and discussions. Your lawyer looks like she is right.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Out of curiosity, I just checked my lease contract and there is no decimal, just '25', so you may have a technicality here. Let us know how this turns out.
Thank you, will do. We didn't think about extra miles, it is my first lease in my life, and after reading the contract I though "ah, 0.25 cent per mile is not a big deal". Then somebody at work told me "no way, it is 25 cents". I verified and it is not what the contract says. $3750 vs $62.50 for extra 15,000 miles is not too much money to arbitrate for, with that I'm just puzzled with the numbers and the way it legally reads

·
Glfbggy
741 Posts