BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2007 certified preowned BMW, 328i with low milage. I love the car, and so far, so good.

When I took the car on a test drive, I noticed that there was satilite radio connected. When I left and took the car home, the system must have been de-activated. I called the BMW dealer, who indicated that in order to get a signal, it will cost me $895. I do not understand this cost since I am positive the radio was there when I took it for a test drive. I have tried everything, including a call to Sirius to activate the radio, but come up empty handed.

It seems as if $895 is a great deal of money in today's economy, and I question whether Sirius will stay in business or go under. Are there any other economical ways to get satilate radio?

·
Registered
351 Posts
I've been hearing SIRIUS was going under for over 5 years now. And yet it still plays on...

The car may have had a SIRIUS tuner when you test drove it but had it removed prior to your purchase. If your paperwork does not specifically mention SIRIUS being included, there isn't much you can do. Retrofitting the factory solution is a $700+ deal.

As far as a more economical approach, you can always use a plug and play radio feeding the auxiliary input.

·
Registered
165 Posts
My opinion, the dealer is screwing you. If the radio was there when you test drove the car then it should be there when you bought it. I had a Sirius put in my car when I bought it new, $895 sounds about right. One year subscription comes with that, again new. Take it to a shop and see if it has been physically removed. Again, if it has and the sales info. said the car had one and they removed it............not good!! KevinR has the right idea.

·
Registered
2,590 Posts
I bought a 2007 certified preowned BMW, 328i with low milage. I love the car, and so far, so good.