BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys, I'm new to this forum and i am trying to semi restore my 02 325xi with 167k miles. I'm chasing a vibration that has all the symptoms of a front wheel balance issue. However I have had all four wheels balanced and checked for dents. I have new breaks and rotors taking special care with the mounting surfaces hub/rotor/wheel. Also new front axles. I've checked ball joints/tie rods and wheel bearings and all seems tight. I have no vibration issues when applying breaks and I cant hear any bearing noises when going strait or changing directions. Also, I was wondering if worn engine mounts would somehow cause this by screwing up the geometry of the front dif. The mounts look ok but I know they are a common issue with these cars. I'm new to the mysteries of X drive BMW's but I'm the son of a aircraft mechanic and I've fallen in love with this car. Please help.lol

·
It's Bimmer, not BEEEEMER
462 Posts
While driving or while just sitting? Maybe you already did this, but have you had it aligned by a qualified shop?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,550 Posts
However I have had all four wheels balanced and checked for dents.
Basic rule is going from outside to inside.
Don't just check the rims for dents but also for rim runout. Spin the wheel by hand and see if there is any egg-shape or side to side movements on the inner edge. 1mm of rim runout already feels as a slight vibration.
Tires, once I had cheap old tires that were prone to vibrate. Once I switched to a good one, vibration went away.

·
Registered
3,523 Posts
No prof. alignment yet. I going to after I change the motor mounts. Tires and wheels are new
Odds are motor mounts are not the problem.
Was vibration there before the new tires and wheels?

Give some details. Vibrates at what speeds? And under power and not?

·
Keeping it surreal
43,227 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #9