BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought this 1996 328is. I am new to the bmw world so please respect my large lack of intelligence.:) When you look at this car from the front you can see it is very low. If you look closely the front tires seem to tilt inward (aka top of tire leaning in towards engine.) Camber/Caster? Are they the right words?

Anyways, From the side i can just about fit my finger between the tire and fender. The back however appears to be at the stock ride height. What i am trying to do is get the front back to the original ride height using the least amount of money as possible:thumbup: and to fix the front tires from having such a bad tilt to them. I took a picture of the shock, maybe that will help a little. Should i buy all stock suspension?

Attachments

·
hookersandblow
7,254 Posts
Well, it looks like you've got some lowering springs there.. and maybe I'm loco, but there is a pretty good amount of camber on our cars that's set by the factory, and the tires WILL wear on the inside first.

·
Hellawut??
14,546 Posts
I recently bought this 1996 328is. I am new to the bmw world so please respect my large lack of intelligence.:) When you look at this car from the front you can see it is very low. If you look closely the front tires seem to tilt inward (aka top of tire leaning in towards engine.) Camber/Caster? Are they the right words?

Anyways, From the side i can just about fit my finger between the tire and fender. The back however appears to be at the stock ride height. What i am trying to do is get the front back to the original ride height using the least amount of money as possible:thumbup: and to fix the front tires from having such a bad tilt to them. I took a picture of the shock, maybe that will help a little. Should i buy all stock suspension?
if i dont end up selling my car... illl trade stock springs for these....

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5