Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 3-year lease is up on my beautiful 2018 Tanzanite Blue 440i GC and its decision time. My 3 options are:

1. Buy my 2018 BMW 440i GC
2. Lease a Tesla Model 3
3. Lease a 2020 BMW 330i

My goal is to reduce my monthly $734 lease payment since I have a kid going to college in the fall.

Option 1: Buy-out my leased 440i GC. While I love this car looks, power and engine (much better than my 2015), I have been driving a GC for 6 years now and I am ready for a change. But BMW is offering me a $3,000 discount on my residual value and 2.99%. Still, looking at $32k + tax on a car with 30,000 miles.

Option 2: Lease a Tesla Model 3 (dual motor). I test drove one recently (overnight) and I liked it…sort of. I loved the power (0-60 in 4.4 sec but feels faster), the exterior design (which is very subjective, especially here) and color (blue). It felt neat and gadgetry, but its simplicity is plain and somewhat stressful, if not just goofy. I mean, everything is controlled through the 15” screen, even the windshield wipers! At times, I felt nervous and even a bit frustrated just changing the vent direction and temperature. The handling was good as it felt like it hugged the road with front wheel drive precision, but it did not really excite me that much. I hated the smallish steering wheel and miniature rear view mirror. And rear visibility was even worse than my GC (if that is even possible). I was also not a huge fan of the stark white/black contract “premium” interior (and I have white interior now!). The fake/vegan leather felt sort of rubbery and too cushy for a sports car, the white strip on the dash reflected on the side mirrors, the (awkward) trunk and 'frunk' are manual open/close, and there’s no parking cameras (other than the large rear view) or heads-up display. My wife and kids however, loved the cabin, and felt it was fun and “cool” to drive.