BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been a member here for a long time, but only just recently put up my first post. After using this (and other forums) for repair help, I realized it's time to start giving back. I own a 2000 E39 528i Sport pkg. IMNSHO, the E39 is the greatest sedan ever put on the road. Just handles like a dream. Nicely responsive and well behaved in the corners. And does she corner! Have owned this car since 2003 and if it was a 5 speed (was ex wifes car) I'd own it forever. I see an E46 in my future.

I've been working on my cars for over 20 years. And will fix, except for the deep internals on an automatic transmission, anything on them. The list of what I've repaired on mine is fairly long. After all, at 234,000 miles things will break. Just off the top of my head: cooling system (yes everything in it, except the heater core and bypass valves), suspension and steering (both ends and again just about everything), CCV, alternator, valve cover gasket, and even some body work. Plus all the maintenance (belts, plugs, all fluids, etc.)

In my spare time, of which there's been little the last 4 or so years, I enjoy road racing. Been racing SCCA since 1998. Own a Spec Miata, which I hope to race again soon.

Other vehicle: 2005 Chevy 2500 hd crew cab diesel.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Sounds like you've got lots of experience working with vehicles period let alone with BMW's. And I agree with you at 200 thou miles they will require some work if you want it to run as it can. I look forward to your input. I haven't worked on a BMW since the early 80's and I've noticed that technology sure has changed quite a bit and I'm unfamiliar.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cars are cars. Mechanically, they don't change that much. Engineers design, accountants redesign and something with compromises gets built. Lol