BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
Im a newbie here with my 2005 645ci, I try to get new wheels for my car from Tirerack, here a question:
What happen if I running the wheels without tpms, beside the center message, does it make any ......sound or annoying problem? I can live with a warning light but I will piss if its keep making noise.
Please let me know if anyone here running the wheels without tpms.

·
Nerdy G
908 Posts
shudnt b any issues besides the fact you wont know when you have a flat.. But why not change the sensors?

·
Registered
2,023 Posts
The only issue is that you will have the warning lights about low pressure and the chime. If you can live with that then by all means go ahead but not sure why you would want to take away that feature. Why cant the new rims and tire fit the sensors?

·
Nerdy G
908 Posts
The warning system in that car is beyond annoying and god forbid you have a passenger they think the car is falling apart. Big warning message on the idrive for everyone to see and the beeping.. I would never, everything needs to run perfect i dont even like the low fuel message lol

·
Registered
30 Posts
I didn't think that the pre mid 2006 6's had TPMS, but instead had FTM, which was a system that detected a flat based on the rotation of the wheel.

My guess is that you don't have sensors in your tires and that you can make a change without issue. That's why they ask you at tirerack about rubber or metal stems - all FTM's are rubber stems as I recall (since no sensors).

I think I'm right about this, but would be well for another to weigh in and either confirm or give better wisdom.

- zesty

·
Registered
482 Posts
I didn't think that the pre mid 2006 6's had TPMS, but instead had FTM, which was a system that detected a flat based on the rotation of the wheel.