BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all i am new to the Bimmerfest site. I wanted to know if anyone had any advice for me with my problem. i Drive a 1994 530i has exactly 220000 miles on it and i have a tranny issue. when i come to a stop it slips out of gear. i have to rev it a little to get it to go back into gear. i have changed my tranny mounts and it did not help. please help!!!!!!

·
Registered
24 Posts
from my previous experience with trannys, if its a money issue...
#1 drive it until it breaks :thumbup: my last car lasted 3yrs with a slipping tranny
#2 find a parts car or just buy another car! sometimes fixing the tranny will be the same as buying yourself another used one, so it really depends on how much you want to keep her!:)

·
Registered
84 Posts
no, no, no, NO!

You need two things:

Turbine Speed Sensor ($39 at the dealer)
and
Full Tranny Flush.

Just went through this last week. Slips into N at a stop sign, give it a gas, and it pops right back in correct?

Also get on the highway and see if you romp on it, it should downshift and then NOT want to shift back up. If that happens, simply slide your A/M Switch from Auto to Manual, and then Back to Auto, if it shifts back into the correct gear, then do the above two steps.

The transmission is having trouble realizing the engine speed and doesnt know what gear to be in.

Everything cost me $250. And yes, everyone including Aamco wanted to sell me a $2500 Transmission

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
tranny issue

Thanks for all the help guys i will do the tranny flush and let you know what happens also i needs new motor mounts. know where i can get them?:p

·
Sleeper
430 Posts
whats a turnine speed sensor? tranny speed sensor?

no, no, no, NO!

You need two things:

Turbine Speed Sensor ($39 at the dealer)
and
Full Tranny Flush.