BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2009 convertible 650i automatic. I was driving for a while yesterday and then I was in a line for a drive-through for about 20 minutes with the car on. The fan came on which to me sounds louder than any other car that I've had in the past but I don't know if this fan is normally supposed to be loud anyway. After a little while I got the error message that shows there. I'm not a mechanic and I'm going to take it to a mechanic, but I wanted to find out if there was anything that I should do in the interim to make sure that nothing happens while I'm getting to the mechanic. Also, what are the things that I should be looking for so that the mechanic doesn't screw me over in some way?

·
Registered
Ship Captain of the Ever Given
1,944 Posts
The trans is cooled by driving down the road with air blowing over it, and by the transmission cooler which is on or part of the radiator. When stopped the aux fan pulls air through the radiator which in turn coils the trans fluid.
you could have a bad temp sensor, the auxiliary cooling fan might not have a stage 2, the cooler lines maybe plugged up, lots of possible causes.
If it does turn out to be the trans was indeed hot I would request a fluid change as heat is the enemy to transmissions.

·
Super Moderator
9,051 Posts
The thermostat for the transmission could be starting to fail, or either your cooling fan is going bad? The thermostat is not that expensive repair, but the cooling fan is not cheap. The fan can be tested with ISTA, if your mechanic has a copy of it? The fan has 4 different speeds, so I would test it before replacing it.

·
Premium Member
Current: 2009 E63 650i Coupe, 2009 E92 M3 Past: 2012 F10 535i, 2009 E93 335i vert, 2007 Roush 427r
136 Posts