Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time on the forums. I am a first time BMW owner - F10 535i 2011 (made in sep 2010), I am having issues with my air conditioning. My Air conditioning used to work a few months ago as it should, but recently it's been having issues.

When I start the car and turn on the AC, it will run for about 10-15 seconds, slowly decreasing the air output without me touching any buttons and then it will just shut off. As the car runs for a while it may come back on reduced air output for 10 seconds at most.

Trying to identify the issue, I have taken apart the blower motor assembly, cleaned it, and reassembled it,

I had low system voltage and a battery with a lower than nominal charge, so I replaced the alternator and had the battery charged, now the system voltage is good,

I tested all the fuses and they were all fine, and there were no other apparent electrical issues.

What could be the issue? Could it be the Final Stage Resistor, or the Blower motor resistor, or a relay? Has anyone experienced this issue before?

Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
5,349 Posts
The climate control module (IHKA in BMWspeak) controls the climate control. It has at least one if not two sensors that check the passenger cabin’s temperature. The IHKA has a small fan that blows cabin air over the temperature sensor. Sometimes that fan stops working or there’s some dust on the sensor. The first thing I’d do is to take a can of compressed air (don’t use compressed air from a auto shop as it likely has too much water/humidity in the air) and blow it into the grills on the IHKA. That should get rid of any dust on the sensor. If that doesn’t fix the problem I’d check the refrigerant pressures (high side and low side). The ac compressor needs to be running to check the pressures.

·
Registered
243 Posts