Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am new to BMW and I was told that I will need to buy 4 new tyres.

When I purchased the car I had 245/45 R18 100V fit both in rear and front.

I found out that there is an option to buy 275/40 R18 tyres as rear and 245 for the front ones.

1) Will it will consume more fuel?
2) Is it better to have 275 size tyres on the back or all 245 tyres like I had because it is easier for me to buy 4 the same ones, what are the benefits?

And finally, is it better to buy tyres with BMW recommended star on them ? Because I found another nice ones but they have no star on them but they are popular.

BMW 5 518d 2014.

Screenshot attached from online shop and my car's manual. 3.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
4,105 Posts
I found out that there is an option to buy 275/40 R18 tyres as rear and 245 for the front ones.

1) Will it will consume more fuel?
2) Is it better to have 275 size tyres on the back or all 245 tyres like I had because it is easier for me to buy 4 the same ones, what are the benefits?

And finally, is it better to buy tyres with BMW recommended star on them ? Because I found another nice ones but they have no star on them but they are popular.
First and foremost, check with the authorities that are registering your vehicle to be used in your country. I cannot say what is your country of residence, but in most EU countries you cannot use tire sizes as you please. Unfortunately, you can in U.S.

Now, to your questions:

1. No. Your right foot determines how much fuel you use. I drove my E92 in both scenarios and fuel consumption difference, if it changed, was negligible.

2. My best entertainment with that car was with 225 wide tire all around. Car came OEM with 225 in the front and 255 in the rear.