BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I recently had some coolant issues with my 1998 328i with 135,000 miles on the motor. My mechanic was able to spot fluids seeping from the head/block and has informed me it is time for a head gasket replacement.
We're going to replace the usual things...new gaskets, plugs, waterpump, thermostat, etc, etc....however, we weren't sure about the service interval for the VANOS, or does this follow the "if it aint broke don't mess with" category?
Thanks

·
I Am The Machine
20,931 Posts
If it ain't broke....

If it is rattling/ticking/doing it's thing, there are repair kits. But on E36s there's not a whole lot of maintenance you even can do to VANOS.

I'm a little concerned your mechanic wasn't sure about that. And, uhhhhhh, head gasket replacement? A little serious diagnosis from just a visual. Have you done compression or leak down checks? Have you spotted in contamination of coolant or oil? Have you noticed any sweet white smoke from the exhaust? Have you noticed temperature issues?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is what we know.
I bought car in January (owner was very motivated to get rid of car.)
coolant recovery tank had crack....replaced with oem tank and cap from bmw
Still ongoing:
loss of 1 quart of anti-freeze every 7-10 days.
oil visually weeping from between the head and block
15 % compression loss on 2 and 3 cylinders
no smoke or smell in exhaust
To clarify....it was me that asked my mechanic if I should replace vanos when the head is off. The engine purs and runs quietly.

·
I Am The Machine
20,931 Posts
Ah, thanks for the info. If you've got disappearing coolant and compression loss along with enough oil to really be clear it's from between head and block, then OK, I can agree with that....:rofl: