BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
705 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello good people!,
I found a 99 528 sport wagon for $500..basically has been sitting 2.5 years. Needed alternator and a radiator fan at time it was "put down" body is straight interior not too bad..I'm no mechanic and it's located 50 miles from me..I'm going get it just because it's at a very reasonable price.

Besides the obvious (battery, alternator and fan) as well as time up, oil change etc...
What would you all consider the first thing I do?? Assuming it will run and drive once I do the aforementioned things, what should I get done?

E30 I know it would be the timing belt...what are some of the typical e39 issues? I have read coolant system can be an issue and transmission.

Anything I can check in a car that's not currently running?
Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
15,608 Posts
If you're no mechanic, walk away from it, unless you want to pour big bucks into it.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Agreed, wilth no lefty loosey..righty tighty skills I suggest you avoid this car.

HOWEVER, if you have a desire to learn this car may be a cheap education. Bring a mechanic friend with you. Sounds like, if you source the parts carefully, you may be back on the road for <500 in parts. Worst case you cut your losses and loose a few hundred bucks.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Don't be scared off by these guys. $500....?? Cant go wrong unless its a wreck....ie body damage, body rails out of alignment?

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

·
Registered
705 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The body is straight..when I say I'm no mechanic, I mean I'm not great..I change brakes, plugs, ignition coils, rotors, wired aftermarket radios, etc...I'm handy, but I wouldn't be to do big jobs such as rebuilding an engine. I also don't have a garage.

·
Master of none
307 Posts