BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this thread has been posted on this forum regarding valid entry with a permanent resident (green) card. If my family member has a passport from a different country along with a green card, does that suffice for entering Germany and traveling throughout the continental EU? If not, is there an EU visa that can be obtained?

Thanks.

Cessna

·
Registered
3,599 Posts
May depend on the country of origin for the passport. With a Japanese passport and a U.S. Greencard (no longer Green though) there are no problems.

·
Registered
3,737 Posts
I probably shouldn't do this, but I have spent much of the day dealing with visa requirements for visiting scholars to the U.S., so I'll give advice about Germany too.

WARNING: I am not an expert in this area, and this advice is worth--at best--what you are paying for it.

The following, I think, addresses your exact question and is from the website of the German Consulates in the U.S.:
First, look at the detailed list of countries from which visas are required. It is at:
http://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/dipl...seUndAufenthalt/StaatenlisteVisumpflicht.html
(The detailed notes are very important.)

Then look at the FAQ--
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Q: My visa has been issued by the German Consulate, could I use this visa to make a sidetrip to other European countries (for example to France or Austria)?

A: Yes , you can. According to the Schengen agreement, visas are also valid for Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.
Please note, however, that you always have to apply at the consulate of the country which is your primary destination.