BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the bimmer world as I just bought my first 00'323i, I have been reading all the talk about colloing issues and changing out the water pumps, mine has 64k, and i am thinking i need to change my water pump, so how hard is it and are there any pitfalls, I have changed water pumps in other cars before.:eeps:

·
Im here
4,825 Posts
I am new to the bimmer world as I just bought my first 00'323i, I have been reading all the talk about colloing issues and changing out the water pumps, mine has 64k, and i am thinking i need to change my water pump, so how hard is it and are there any pitfalls, I have changed water pumps in other cars before.:eeps:

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
If you can get the service records for the car as the pump may have already been changed. If not I would do the pump and thermostat at a min. Its about a 2 hour job taking your time and once you have done it once its about 1 hour job. Fan and shroud need to come out and then you are there .

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have car fact sheet that shows all the services, I will have a look a little closer, would you go for the standard replacement, I see there is a performance water pump is it worth the $$$$

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
I have car fact sheet that shows all the services, I will have a look a little closer, would you go for the standard replacement, I see there is a performance water pump is it worth the $$$$
In my opinion the high performance pump is worth it if
1. You plan to keep the car very long term
2. You track or are always taking very long trips in it.
I have it on my car but I am planning on being buried in my car.:)

·
Registered
115 Posts