Bimmerfest BMW banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Underachiever
615 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, Im still investigating, but my neighbor saw my 04 X3 lights come on at 0400 today. When I got up, the battery was dead. My keys are hung up in a safe place. I do see a "failed lightbulb" alarm even tho all the lights work. So I jumpstarted the X3 and will check at midnight etc.
This is a very odd problem!:dunno: Any ideas will be appreciated.

·
Frequently perplexed
47 Posts
Are only marker lights on or are the full headlights on? The latter is obviously Very Wrong. The former sounds as though the wiring thinks auto-on is working a little too well. Or do you use manual off/on? Either way, consider leaving a trickle charger on the battery. If the marker lights come on, there's some chance the battery won't be dead when you are awake enough to try to do some troubleshooting.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Going by my Acura experience (Im a service writer) all signs to me are pointing to a water leak somewhere. check fuse boxes for corrosion, IE pull relays and fuses and check where they plug into. Also check sunroof drains to make sure they are free and working as intended. Unless of course it hasn't rained or snowed recently. Id still check fuse boxes and main relays.

·
Frequently perplexed
47 Posts
Sounds good to me. IMHO automotive and, in general, DC wiring is pain and suffering waiting to happen. Tap the horn and wipers move. Open a door and the horn blows. Arghhh!

·
Registered
31 Posts
Sounds good to me. IMHO automotive and, in general, DC wiring is pain and suffering waiting to happen. Tap the horn and wipers move. Open a door and the horn blows. Arghhh!
Could be worse, We could be on a british car forum. Have you ever tried to figure out Lucas electrical ? That is an unholy nightmare, although the early bmws weren't the best either with ground wires that would turn into not ground wires depending on what circuit was on or off.

·
Anti-Hack
4,906 Posts
Exterior lights.