BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here, just got a Silver Gray 330i ZHP, wondering where to go for tint. Im trying to get the best tint possible for somethin not VERY expensive. Im in the Northern VA area, so MD, DC, or VA would work. Gimme some suggestions...

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2015 335 M-Sport Mineral Gray
6,347 Posts
Anything under $200 will probably fade in a few years. Fade resistant films usually are metallic which may interfere with radio antenna embedded in the rear window, radar detector, satellite radio antenna (if you put it on the rear package shelf), etc. You should try to get a quality non-metalic film such as 3M or Madico Charcool (not Charcoal) or even better look at ceramic film (Huper Optik Ceramic or FormulaOne Pinnacle) though that will run you between $400 and $500.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
tinting

does this huper optik produce a dark charcoal/black tint..or a reflective tint. I want somethin more on the black side, not somethin reflective like other metal tints.

·
Registered
96 Posts
only use llumar....3m isnt so great....llumar comes with a warrenty ......i work for detail shop its what we use (3ms clear bras are crap too btw)....my trans am has had Llumar on it for 4 years no fade...here is a pic ..taken july 4th ...of my TA...i just had the BMW done too

·
Registered
6,347 Posts
wikde46 said:
does this huper optik produce a dark charcoal/black tint..or a reflective tint. I want somethin more on the black side, not somethin reflective like other metal tints.
Ceramic film does not have a metallic (mirror) effect. It has very low reflectivity. The same tint will vary in look. At times it looks light and sometime it look limo dark. There are plenty of threads discussing Huper Optick Ceramic and FormulaOne Pinnacle with plenty of pictures. Do a search.

Here is my thread when I originally install HO.