BimmerFest BMW Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get summer wheels and tires for driving schools and street driving. Tire Rack has 17" Kosei x 8.5 width - which they say will work but will rub on tight aggressive turns. Does anyone have experience with this - I'm a novice re; with wheel issues and could use some help. I presently have 17" wheels all around on a 2004 330ci, I think they are 7 width, and tires are m/s Michelin 225/50/17s... which I'll use for Oct-March wear in Ohio.

The alternative to the lightweight 17" Kosei is 18" wheels at twice the price or more ... the OZ or the SSR are both around 18 - 19 lb and 18 x 8" measure. But the price hits me hard! Which is why I'm looking for some feedback as to what to expect if I fitted the Kosei 17 x 8.5 to the coupe. Again, I'd be using same size all around, no staggering.

comments & advice appreciated! I'm new at these fitments!

·
Keeping it surreal
43,296 Posts
The wheel/tire combo you`re considering will work just fine as long as the wheels have an offset within the range of 35 to 50mm.

Regards,
Bob

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think the offset is 40mm, but I was told that the fronts might rub against the fender in very sharp or pushed turns.

·
Is it Trackday yet?
8,975 Posts
I think the offset is 40mm, but I was told that the fronts might rub against the fender in very sharp or pushed turns.
No way! I'm lowered quite a bit and run the K1's with 235/40-17 r-comp tires, at the track, all day long, even under full compression, no rubbing whatsoever...

Here's stock ZHP suspension, 245/40-17 PS2s...

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Will Kosei wheels fit

Jvr826, do you think there is any difference in size of our wheel/brake capacity? (pardon my awkward questions, but I'm a newbie at wheel issues) Your coupe is a 2005 with perf pkg, mine a 2004 with no sport option... brake rotor is probably different size?