BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's getting to be that time of year again here in Maine and I was curious about what people do to their cars before they put them away for the winter?I have only owned my convertible for 2 months ,so have never dealt with this before. Should I change oil now or in the spring?What about Seafoam in the oil over the winter to dissolve the sludge?Trickle charge on battery or disconnect? What is the best cover to get to protect it for the winter in my dusty garage? Thanks for your input in advance!

·
Registered Non-OP
14,496 Posts
Hmmm... Although I never had a reason to store my car (for over a month), I would assume you change oil before you store it. No seafoam, and keep the battery disconnected.

I have no experience with this, so i wouldnt even know the routine :dunno:

Others may chime in.

·
BMWCCA HPDE Instructor
23,464 Posts
I have plenty of experience storing cars over the winter. Here's what I do:

Putting car in storage:
- Burn through your current tank of gas, then add Chevron fuel stabilizer, then fill up half-way with premium, then drive around for a bit so that the fuel stabilizer gets all the way through the lines and to the injectors (in other words, don't add the stabilizer after you've already parked the car where it will be for the winter). Do this in exactly the order described.
- Purchase a portable "bucket dehumidifier" and place inside car. They're basically buckets filled with of some mystery pellet material that pulls moisture out of the air. This is quite important, and prevents/reduces mold forming inside your car. Also keeps it from getting musty in general. You'd surprised how much water it will collect by the end of winter.
- Leave windows cracked about an inch.