BimmerFest BMW Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ya'll. Chuck in Dallas here.

Just got a 2000 Z3 w/ the 2.5L M52TUB25 & 5speed, 94,000 miles. Got it mainly for fun at track days. Fixing stuff that is wrong, or broke, or worn-out. Have done 5 days of HPDE so far and have questions about brakes. And lots of worn-out stuff still to replace...

By way of background, I have 7 years experience on these tracks with the CMRA so am pretty good at seeing what is going on and think I'm pushing the little guy fairly hard. The Z is low on power, so corner speed is real important and at the local track known as Eagle Canyon there are 4 very hard braking areas, all of them left turns.

Last track day I completely wore out, completely!!, the right REAR pads in only 4 sessions of about 25 minutes each. Granted, just over-the-counter regular stuff, but at least from a NAPA (which I consider to generally sell good stuff). The right front lasted 2 more sessions the following day. I do not know why the rights wore out quicker, guess it is just because they were a little more loaded. Any thoughts?

The real thing I need an answer on is - the piston side pad wore dramatically quicker on both the front and rear. Is this normal? The pads were newly installed and I had properly (I think) greased the slide pins. Will not be upgrading calipers, maybe better than OEM rotors soon. Why the uneven wear?

Also, once after they were good and hot I tried to induce the anti-lock system as an experiment and it just didn't kick in. A few days later on a patch of wet street it was easy to do so. Explanation?"

End of brake question. For now.

Would love to get in conversation with anybody nearby that really understands working on this machine.

Chuck
cell at 214-394-5832
is always on to talk about having fun with gasoline

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Pads should wear evenly on each side of the caliper no matter how fast the wear.